Welcome to manappuram.com! In order to provide a more relevant experience for you, we use cookies to enable some website functionality. Cookies help us see which articles most interest you; allow you to permit us to deliver content tailored to your interests and locations; and provide many other site benefits. For more information, please review ourPrivacy Policy


Jun 10 2016

VC Padmanabhan Memorial Annual Lecture & Awards for Excellence 2016

Lulu International Convention Centre, Thrissur

The seventh V.C. Padmanabhan Memorial Awards for Excellence for 2016 were conferred on the distinguished awardees at a function held on June 10th, 2016 at the Lulu International Convention Centre, Thrissur. Prominent winners for the year included the eminent Malayalam novelist and screenplay writer Padma Bhushan M.T. Vasudevan Nair, environmentalist Padma Shri Dr. Sunita Narain and former Union Minister and Member of Parliament Prof. K.V. Thomas. The Award carried a cash prize of Rs.2 lakhs and a bronze plaque.

The V.C. Padmanabhan Memorial Awards were instituted in the year 2010 to commemorate the illustrious founder of the Manappuram Group. They are presented every year to eminent personalities who have made significant contributions in the five categories of Arts and Literature, Civil Servant achieving Excellence in Public Administration, Public Representative achieving Excellence in Good Governance, Business Excellence leading to development of Society at large and Ecology and Environment Conservation.

The following is the list of Awardees for the year 2016:

Category Awardees
Arts and Literature Padma Bhushan M.T. Vasudevan Nair
Eminent Malayalam writer and novelist
Business Excellence Leading to
Development of Society at Large
Shri P.N. Vasudevan
Managing Director, Equitas Holdings Ltd.
A Public Representative with
Excellence in Good Governance
Prof. K.V. Thomas
M.P. and former Union Minister
A Civil Servant Achieving Excellence
in Public Administration
Shri T.K. Jose, IAS
Chairman, Coconut Development Board, Kochi
Ecology and Environment
Padma Shri Dr. Sunita Narain

The five-member jury that selected the winners for the year 2015 was headed by Shri T. Balakrishnan IAS (Retd.). The other members were Shri. V.P. Nandakumar (MD & CEO, Manappuram Finance Ltd.), Shri P.K. Vijayakumar, IRS Retd. (Insurance Ombudsman for Kerala), and Dr. P.V. Krishnan Nair (Secretary, Kerala Sangeetha Nataka Academy).